Uebertribe – Brand New U


Format: LP – 12 Inch – Vinyl
Side A:
Game Over (2:08)
Brand New U (4:17)
Shake (4:26)
Ying Yang Kutsk (5:44)
Purple Pearl (3:59)
Side B:
Don’t Treble Me (4:14)
I Won’t Go To Bed (5:23)
In A Matter Of Seconds (5:44)
The Thief (5:37)

Artikelnummer: 0003 Kategorie: Schlagwort:


The first single, though, in true funk style, was an instrumental. Game Over was released on the Hamburg specialist 7inch label Our Label Records, with a released party hosted in the newly re-opened Mojo Club.

Uebertribe continued playing live but focussed on recording the songs for the debut album, produced by Dennis Rux in his fully analogue Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Studios. The result is a bona fide funk album, rough and raw. A newly recorded version of Game Over sets the pace, followed by the staccato rhythms of the title track and the slow and badass grooving Shake. After the psychedelic, Asian style and heavy horn excursion of Ying Yang Kutsk Uebertribe show they have some pop appeal with the Prince tribute and first single Purple Pearl.

Don’t Treble Me would work well on a late Sixties hippie festival, while the lazy and catchy I Won’t Go To Bed lives up to its title. In A Matter Of Seconds takes on some pace and leads towards the furious closing number which is The Thief,sounding like a theme tune of a lost Sixties movie. We have our roots in raw funk. But we also love Afrobeat, P-Funk and Jazz, Legbo explains. To be honest, we try to put some Voodoo on all of it, if you know what I mean.

While Uebertribe now established themselves as a consistent live act and went through some personal changes, drummer Martin Kahl, bassist Daniel Vorpahl and guitarist Legbo started writing their own new songs and added Jamaican born singer Ray Darwin, who has been living and recording in Germany for some years as their fresh regular vocalist not yet featured on Brand New U, but in all future releases and live shows.

Zusätzliche Information




Vinyl – LP




2-3 Werktage